Remote Desktop doesn't work
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Remote Desktop doesn't work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Remote Desktop doesn't work

    Hallo.
    I had 2 computers connected with a cable, and a simple windows network between them.
    From one of them i could use the remote desktop utility.
    Now i bought a new one, in stalled Windows XP, a router and try to connect, remotely, to the new computer from the other one-no use.
    A message: unable to log you on because of an account restriction.
    I didn't make any passwords, what's wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    37
    Control Panel-> Windows Firewall->Exceptions tab. Make sure Remote Desktop has a check mark in it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Firewall o.k., no Remote Desktop yet

    There is a check mark in the firewall, on both computers. no use.
    Interesting that the name i entered when installing XP was Karol, later i changed the name of the single user of this computer to KarolR, and it says, in the place where the permit Remote Desktop check box is, that the user Karol already has permission.
    I thought the last user name, KarolR, should appear there, maybe that is the cause?
    With either name it doesn't work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    4,750
    If you are able to connect to the remote file/print shares with the account(s), then it is either a setting within Remote Desktop or possibly a system/account policy configuration.
    Microsoft MVP (2004 through 2008)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks.
    I can see files on the other computer, but i don't know if that is based on my account.
    I just made file sharing in the explorer window, by right clicking the disk drive letter.
    And i don't see any possibility to configure the Remote Desktop, so, it must be my account policy. where do i modify this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    4,750
    At this point, it is not a networking or networking setup situation, but an operating system/application one. Since Microsoft keeps changing things around across its various versions, you might start at http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...sked-questions.
    Microsoft MVP (2004 through 2008)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •