Limited or no connectivity - can't renew IP address
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Limited or no connectivity - can't renew IP address

Limited or no connectivity - can't renew IP address

Hi.
    I'm really new to this -- can't seem to fix my internet connection!
    I have a Dell truemobile 2300 router, two laptops, and two desktop computers attached to it, with a DSL model. All but the one Dell 600 m laptop are working fine. The laptop gets this error when trying to connect "this connection has limited or no connectivity" when I hit repair, it tells me that it can't renew my IP address. I have tried a number of things based on reading some posts:
    1) I have turned off router, DSL modem, etc and turned back on
    2) I have tried the winsock fix, which didn't work
    3) I have tried the SP2 patch, which also didn't work
    4) I have changed my network card speed (or something like that) to 10 mbs/full, still didn't work
    5) I checked all connections, everything is fine, and all other computers work fine
    6) I checked everything in the device manager and everything is working fine
    7) i have tried running the cmd prompt -- ipconfig/release and then ipconfig/renew -- after the renew command I get an error message -- it can't connect with the dhcp server

Any idea what I should do now?

Thanks
    Sara

Is it possible that you have a static IP setup in your TCP/IP properties, and you aren't obtaining automatically on that laptop.

Also - are you connecting wirelessly or wired with the laptop?

Hi Sara

This worked for me from another post - appologies to the author but I didn't make a note of the name/link:

Flush the DNS Cache:

Windows 2000/XP: Fire up a Command Prompt (Start Menu>Accessories) and execute the command
    ipconfig -flushdns

if you get 'could not flush dns' or message saying dns resolver cache could not be flushed.